helps people win back their lives
Driver Responsibility Fees in DUI Cases
In 2003, the Driver Responsibility law took effect in Michigan. This law was designed to deter potentially dangerous or fatal driving behaviors by assessing monetary fines to drivers who commit traffic offenses. It is important to contact a Michigan DUI attorney who can use their experience to help minimize these penalties.
There are two ways in which you may be assessed a Driver Responsibility fee:
- By being convicted of a qualifying offense
- By accumulating seven or more points on your driving record
There are a number of traffic violations that can trigger a Driver Responsibility fee, including drunk or drugged driving convictions. Depending on the offense, you may be ordered to pay either a $500 or $1,000 Driver Responsibility fee. All Driver Responsibility fees that are triggered by a qualifying offense must be paid for two consecutive years.
For example, if you are convicted of operating while visibly impaired (OWVI) or operating with a presence of drugs (OWPD), you will be ordered to pay $500 for two consecutive years. Drivers convicted of charges such as operating while intoxicated (OWI) or OWI causing serious injury or death will be assessed a $1,000 fee for two consecutive years.Accumulated Points
Traffic violations also result in points being added to your Michigan driving record. Once you have accumulated seven or more points, you will be assessed a Driver Responsibility fee.
The number of points assessed depends on the specific traffic violation. Drunk or drugged driving violations can result in as many as six points added to your record.Phasing Out of Driver Responsibility Fees
Michigan is in the process of phasing out the Driver Responsibility program. The program will officially end in October 2019. The fees for point accumulation and qualifying offenses are being reduced on a graduated scale until the program terminates.