helps people win back their lives
Plymouth Third-Offense DUI Lawyer
Michigan has law requires that previous driving under the influence (DUI) charges be considered when an individual commits another offense. A third-offense DUI is almost always considered a felony offense which is the most severe level of DUI charges possible in Michigan. Accordingly, the outcome of a third DUI conviction can have a significant impact on your life.
By exploring your potential alternatives with the assistance of a DUI defense attorney, you may be in a better position to make crucial decisions about the most effective strategy for your case. A Plymouth third-offense DUI lawyer may be able to improve your circumstances by helping you pursue the best possible results in your case.Charges of Operating While Intoxicated
State law makes it illegal for individuals to drive when they are under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or alcohol and drugs. They also may not legally drive when their blood alcohol content (BAC) measures .08 percent or more. For minors and persons who hold commercial driver’s licenses, the maximum BAC level is much lower.
Any charge for operating while intoxicated (OWI) can have severe consequences if it results in a conviction. However, while first and second OWI offenses are misdemeanors, a third charge is classified as a felony no matter how long it has been since the prior charges. As such, consulting a Plymouth third-offense DUI lawyer attorney in this situation can be vital to reducing the possibility of significant consequences.Penalties for Third Offense DUI in Plymouth
- One to five years of incarceration, with a minimum 30-day jail sentence
- Fines ranging from $500 to $5,000
- Mandated completion of 60 to 80 days of community service
- License revocation for one to five years
Unfortunately, these are not the only penalties that individuals in this situation may face. Law enforcement authorities may confiscate your vehicle license plates, immobilize your vehicle(s) for one to three years, and even force you to forfeit your vehicle(s) in some cases. You would also be unable to register any motor vehicles legally.
Additionally, a sentencing judge is likely to require that you attend alcohol education classes in these circumstances. Even if you can eventually restore your driving privileges, you would still face increased insurance premiums and an annual driver responsibility surcharge of $1,000 for two years. You also may be subject to mandatory breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) installation and maintenance, which can be quite expensive.Collateral Consequences of a Third-Offense DUI Conviction
Since a third time OWI conviction is a felony offense, the collateral consequences are especially harsh. A felony conviction removes various civil rights from the convicted party, such as the right to serve on a jury or hold public office. Other potentially affected rights include the right to possess any firearms and vote in elections.
Furthermore, a felony conviction may make some specific jobs and careers unattainable. You may be unable to pursue some professional licenses, may be required to surrender certain professional licenses and if a job requires the ability to drive, you would be ineligible. A felony conviction also may disqualify you from some government benefits and create difficulties in finding housing.
These possible collateral consequences can last well beyond the terms of any sentence that a court imposes. As a result, getting the advice of a third offense DUI lawyer in Plymouth may be instrumental in reaching the best possible outcome to these charges.Consult a Plymouth Third Offense DUI Attorney for Advice
A felony conviction and significant time spent in jail are not the only possible outcome of a third time OWI offense. A strong defense could lead to your charges being dismissed. Even when this is not possible, other alternatives such as enrollment in sobriety court or other treatment programs may enable you to avoid some of the most severe aspects of a third DUI conviction.
In some circumstances, a Plymouth third-offense DUI lawyer may even be able to use things like treatment or problems with the chemical testing or field sobriety testing to persuade a prosecutor to reduce your charges to a misdemeanor charge rather than a felony, although you should expect mandatory attendance at alcohol counseling or treatment. Nonetheless, there may be ways to minimize or reduce the impact of a third DUI conviction on your life with the help of legal counsel. Call today to learn more.