helps people win back their lives
Rochester First-Offense DUI Lawyer
Everybody makes mistakes but getting charged with a DUI after a night out can have life-altering consequences, even if it is your first offense. In Michigan, driving under the influence (DUI) is known as operating while intoxicated (OWI). If a driver has a blood alcohol content (BAC) measuring .08 percent or more or they are visibly impaired by alcohol or drugs, they may be charged with this offense, potentially requiring the help of a DUI attorney.
Various factors may increase DUI charges or penalties, even for a first-time offense. A BAC measuring .17 percent or higher or having a person under the age of 16 in the vehicle during the offense could make the consequences more severe. A Rochester first-offense DUI lawyer could evaluate your situation, explain your options, and fight for a more favorable resolution to the charges that you are facing.First-Time Rochester DUI Penalties
A first OWI charge is a misdemeanor offense with potential penalties including a maximum of 93 days in jail, 360 hours of community service, and an alcohol education course. Defendants also face a six-month license suspension, although they may be able to get a restricted license after 30 days of the suspension have elapsed.
Drivers may also face a fine of up to $500, court costs, and usually a dramatic increase in motor vehicle insurance premiums. The court may also require them to install a blood alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID), requiring the driver to produce a clean breath test to start and operate their car. Installing these systems can be very costly, inconvenient, and a source of embarrassment.
A first-offense DUI in Rochester also comes with six points on the drivers’ license which may put them at risk for license suspension if they accrue too many points. In some cases, a DUI conviction and suspension of driving privileges could lead to job loss, as well. When handling a first-offense DUI, lawyer in Rochester could work to mitigate the potential consequences a defendant may face, especially as it is their first offense.Enhanced Penalties for First-Time DUI Convictions
If the BAC of individuals at the time of their arrest measures .17 percent or more, the law considers the offense to be “super drunk” driving, and the potential penalties reflect this increased severity. Even if individuals have no prior convictions, they will face almost double the regular penalties for a first-time DUI charge such as up to 180 days in jail. Fines for this offense also increase to a maximum of $700. The potential license suspension grows to as much as one year with restricted driving privileges unavailable until 45 days of the suspension have elapsed, and they have installed an ignition interlock device.
Individuals might have mandatory substance abuse treatment for up to one year if convicted of OWI with a BAC of .17 percent or more. A first offense DUI attorney in Rochester may be able to seek a reduction in the charges or penalties at hand that could completely alter a person’s future.Call a Rochester First Offense DUI Attorney for Advice
While you expect your first interaction with the criminal justice system to result in lenient penalties, the DUI laws in Michigan are strict and even a first-time offense can significantly impact your job, your, and freedom. A Rochester first offense DUI lawyer could be instrumental in defending you against the potential penalties that you may be facing.
True excellence in criminal defenses is finding the strongest possible legal strategy and fighting for a good outcome no matter the circumstance. Contact legal counsel today to learn more about how an attorney could help you.