How to Legally Carry a Concealed Weapon in Your Car in MI
By: Patrick Barone, MI Gun Lawyer and author of Michigan Gun Law Legal Books
Michigan firearms law provides that anytime a pistol or revolver is inside a motor vehicle it is considered a concealed weapon. See Michigan Complied Laws Sec. 750.227. This crime is often abbreviated as “CCW” and is applicable even when the pistol is in plain sight, and therefore not literally concealed.
Does Michigan Have Recipricol Concealed Carry Priveleges With Other States?
The only exception to this rule is when you have a valid concealed pistol license (CPL) in your possession. Only a person with a valid CPL may carry and/or possess a pistol inside the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle. Michigan very broadly honors concealed permits from other states, so if you are from out-of-town, and have a valid concealed carry permit from your home state, then the exception will probably apply to you as well.
To be sure check on one of the many sites that list reciprocal states, or contact one of the Michigan Gun Crimes Lawyers at the Barone Defense Firm. Keep in mind that this protection does not apply to long guns. It is never permissible in Michigan to have a rifle or shotgun inside the passenger compartment of your motor vehicle.
Do I Need to Let MI Police Know I Have a Gun in My Vehicle?
If you are carrying a pistol inside your car, and are stopped by the police, Michigan law requires you to disclose to the officer that you are carrying a pistol. You must also provide a copy of your concealed permit and your state ID to the police officer. If you don’t have your concealed permit or ID in your possession at the time you are stopped by the police, or don’t provide both to the officer, and it’s your first offense, then you may be issued a civil infraction ticket punishable by a $100.00 fine. See Michigan Compiled Laws Sec. 28.425(f).
To obtain a concealed carry permit in Michigan you must be a U.S. citizen and at least 21 years old. Also you have to attend and successfuylly complete a MI gun safety course at a gun range (do a quick Google search on MI CPL gun safety class. In almost every case you legally must have resided in the Great Lakesd State for the previous 6 consecutyive months, but this requirement cn be waived if it is an emergency situation.
In addition to providing both forms of ID, you must also inform the officer that you are carrying. If you fail to do this, then you’re putting your Michigan CPL in jeopardy because a failure to disclose that you are carrying is also a violation of Michigan law that will result in your being issued a civil infraction ticket punishable by a $500 fine and a suspension of your CPL for five years. See Michigan Compiled Laws Sec. 28.425(f). If you do this twice, then the second conviction will result in a lifetime revocation of your CPL. For information on how to lawfully carry a firearm in your car without a CPL see the article “When May I Lawfully Transport a Pistol in My Car?”
There is no Covid-19 exception to these rules and laws. Ignorance of the law is also no excuse. So, you won’t be able to claim as a defense that you put your gun in your car to protect yourself because you were planning on driving near protests or riots. If you have a pistol on you with no CPL and find yourself surrounded by protesters who are pounding on your car, don’t think you’ll be avoiding prosecution when you pull out your firearm and shoot someone.
You won’t avoid prosecution in this hypothetical situation and chances are good that you’ll be prosecuted not just for the harm caused by your bullet, but you’ll possibly also be facing other additional felony counts such as CCW and Felony Firearm. See Michigan Compiled Laws Sec. 750.227b.
Get to Know Michigan Gun Laws (Dos and Don’ts) Before You Drive
If you are a Michigan gun owner, and you wish to use your weapon for self-defense, then it is critically important for you to learn Michigan gun laws! It is equally important that you take the time to learn your weapon including how the gun’s safety feature works. Take firearms safety and target classes at your local gun range and spend time target shooting. Then, if your best efforts fail, and you find yourself on the wrong end of an arrest warrant, contact the Michigan Gun Crimes Lawyers at the Barone Defense Firm for your free no obligation case review.
Let our experienced Michigan gun lawyers build a defense and ensure you know what to expect at each step of the legal process. Call today and schedule a free consultation with our experienced Michigan criminal defense lawyers. Please know that all phone conversations, text messages, emails, and in-person meetings are held in the strictest confidence. Ask about a personalized payment plan for legal fees.
Contact us 24 hours a day at our criminal defense law firm’s easy to remember toll-free number, 1-877-ALL-MICH or 877-255-6424, for a free Michigan gun case review. Patrick Barone has decades of experience defending people who got tangled up in Michigan’s confusing gun laws, and he understands the importance of responsible firearms ownership.
We have offices in Birmingham, Troy, and Clarkson, and we will be by your side in court at all required appearances. If you cannot afford to hire a private attorney the court judge will consider your application for a public defender based upon financial need.
Patrick Barone has been a criminal defense lawyer in Michigan for decades, and he has defended clients on alleged gun law violations across the state. When you hire Mr. Barone you will get an entire legal team in your corner, including other ccomplished gun ownership lawyers who share best defense strategies with each other. You also will interact with our professional paralegals who will let you know ahead of time if you are expected in court this week.
Sometimes a gun law violation will be just one of the charges you face. Or you could have been arrested for DUI and need a MI OWI attorney. The Barone Defense Firm has legal experts in all criminal defense matters, so everything can be handled by one firm.