helps people win back their lives
Temporary Driving Permit or Paper License
If you are a licensed Michigan driver and are arrested for OWI, the arresting officer will confiscate your driver's license. Under Michigan state law, the confiscated license must be destroyed, and in its place you will be issued a temporary driving permit. This temporary permit is sometimes referred to as a paper license.
The temporary driving permit is just as valid as a regular driver's license, and you will retain the same driving privileges you had prior to your arrest.
If you are facing a license confiscation, it is important to contact a Michigan DUI lawyer to minimize the penalties against your license as much as possible.Driving Privileges Following Trial
Your future driving privileges will depend on the outcome of your OWI case. If you are found not guilty, the state will reissue you a regular driver's license. If you are found guilty, however, the Michigan Secretary of State will impose penalties on your driver's license.Driver's License Penalties for OWI Conviction
The driver's license penalties you may face after an OWI conviction will depend on the number of prior OWI convictions on your record. Keep in mind that, for the purposes of license penalties and sentencing, a second OWI conviction is only considered a second offense if it occurs within seven years of your first conviction. Likewise, a third conviction is considered a third offense if it occurs within 10 years of the first.
- First OWI Offense: six month driver's license suspension with no driving allowed during the first 30 days and a restricted driver's license for the remaining five months
- Second OWI Offense: mandatory revocation of driver's license for one full year
- Third OWI Offense: mandatory revocation of driver's license for five full years
It is important to remember that Michigan does not offer any kind of restricted license or temporary driving permit for second and subsequent OWI offenders. This means that if you are convicted of a second OWI charge within seven years of the first, you will not be allowed to drive for one full year—period.
After the revocation period, you are entitled to a driver's license restoration hearing, These hearings are not easy to win—especially without a lawyer—and if you lose, you will have to wait one full year before requesting another hearing.
Your license will not be restored until you have had a successful driver's license restoration hearing. The only limited exception to this is successful completion of sobriety court.