helps people win back their lives
Due to the serious penalties that can result from a Michigan DUI, it is very important to contact a Michigan DUI attorney.
The punishment for a Michigan operating while intoxicated (OWI) conviction depends on the number of prior offenses on your record. If this is your first offense, you can expect:
- Up to 93 days in jail
- 360 hours of community service
- $100 to $500 in court fines
In addition, the court may suspend your license for 30 days and require you to drive with restrictions for an additional 150 days. You may also be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. If it is a first offense high BAC or Super Drunk case, then it could be a jail sentence of up to 180 days, fines between $200-$700, and loss of license for 45 days followed by a 320-day period of restricted driving privileges with an ignition interlock device installed on your car. En Español.Second Offense Penalties
For a second offense, the judge may order you to:
- Spend up to one year behind bars
- Perform community service
- Pay up to $1,000 in court fines
You may lose your driving privileges for a year, and the court can seize your vehicle for 90 to 180 days. Again, the court may require the installation of an interlock device.Third Offense Felony
A third offense is a felony, which substantially increases the punishment. You could face:
- One to five years in prison
- 60 to 180 days of community service
- fines ranging from $500 to $5,000
Your license can be revoked for at least five years, and the court may impound your vehicle for one to three years.Property Damage and Personal Injury
If you were involved in an accident that resulted in serious injuries, your punishment could include $100 to $5,000 in fines as well as two years in prison. If your actions caused death, you could face fines ranging from $2,500 to $10,000 and up to 15 years in prison. Causing the death of a police officer or firefighter can increase your prison term to 20 years.Vehicle Immobilization
The potential penalties for a Michigan drunk driving conviction include jail time, fines, community service, and sanctions against your driver's license. In certain cases, you could also be ordered to vehicle immobilization for a period of time.
If you have no prior convictions on your record and are found guilty of any of the above charges, your vehicle may be immobilized for a maximum of 180 days. There is no minimum immobilization period. If you have one prior conviction within the last seven years, the minimum period is 90 days with a maximum of 180 days, and if you have two or more prior convictions within your lifetime, your vehicle may be immobilized for no less than one year and no longer than three years.
If your vehicle has been immobilized and you attempt to remove the device, you could face a misdemeanor charge and be punished by a jail sentence of 93 days and/or a $100 fine.Importance of Contacting An Attorney
As you can see, the penalties for operating a vehicle while intoxicated are quite severe. If you have been charged with OWI in Michigan, it is important to obtain help from an experienced OWI defense attorney before your day in court. Attorney Patrick T. Barone has over a decade of experience representing people like you, and has the legal know-how to help you fight the charges against you. Increase your chances for success. Contact the Barone Defense Firm today for your free case evaluation.